Engaging but “Dying Hope”. (L reviews#12)

For my first review after months of hiatus, I was challenged by my fellow writer in #YAI2017 to review her award winning piece. The title of this novel is “Dying Hope”.

As many of you know, I feel slightly indifferent when it comes to reading Filipino/ Tagalog books. I know that I should blame myself for this lack of interest in Filipiniana books. I am trying my best to change my preference and open up to reading more from local authors next year.

Jpeg

About the book:

Dying Hope is a Tagalog novel by Rhisa A. Rey or thesoullessvampire on Wattpad. It follows the story of a writer named Hope.

Hope is the opposite of her given name, she was already giving up on herself and everything that she loves. That is until she met a boy named Luke who will change the way she looks at her life.

Enticing plot

I could say, this book is one of those masterpieces that make me lean to reading more Filipino novels. For someone who is just starting to appreciate and read Tagalog books, I didn’t find myself lost in the middle of this book because of how deep the Filipino words were.

From the first line of the epilogue I knew it was going to be a great reading journey, and it was.

What I like the most in it is the way the author was able to take me with Hope and Luke. The way she wrote about how the characters felt in all given situations is excellent.

Another plus on my list is the way thesoullessvampire was able to establish God into her story without it spoiling the plot and making it into a bible-ish story rather than a novel.

Confounding Taglish

I am a little disturbed by the way some of the sentences are constructed in what we Filipinos call Taglish ( a mixture of both english and tagalog words in one sentence). I am not a fan of it.

Another issue that I want to point out is the sudden shift of point of view from Hope to Luke. There are instances where the POV shifts from one person to the other in the middle of the chapter and that for me is slightly confusing as a reader.

A well-deserve win

I mentioned earlier that this literary treasure won awards. It won second place on ProjectNY Battle/ Nayink’s Novel writing contest 2016 and it also won on Watty Awards 2016.

I must say, this book truly deserve the recognition. It will surely win more hearts when the book launches on December 17, 2016.

I am honored to write a review for this book by Rhisa A. Rey and I hope to read more from her soon. I know I will, when her #YAI2017 story comes out.;P

Best of luck, my YAI batchmate! 😀

And to you my readers, I hope you grab a copy of her book because sometimes we need a little read that would help us realize that life is worth living.

♥L

 

Leave a Reply

